denbit

Public

@theapi

Share denbit

Check access before sharing the link.

Who can open this board

Anyone can open this board. No sign-in is required.

This link opens the latest version. Copying it does not grant additional access.

Loading…

README

Denbit

Training wheels for the NodeMCU

##Installation

  • Download and install the Aduino IDE plus any drivers it asks too. You can use the free version with the JUST DOWNLOAD link. No need to donate money.

  • Install the NodeMCU "board" into the Arduino IDE:

  • Start Arduino and open Preferences window.

  • Enter http://arduino.esp8266.com/stable/package_esp8266com_index.json into Additional Board Manager URLs field and click Ok:

  • Open the Boards Manager Tools > Board > Boards Manager...:

  • Scroll down to esp8266 by ESP8266 Community, click More info and select version 2.2.0 then click install:

  • Click Close once it installed

  • Select the NodeMCU 1.0 board from Tools > Board menu and select NodeMCU 1.0 (ESP-12E Module):

  • Install the denbit library

  • Download the latest release of this repo

  • Sketch -> Include Library -> Add .ZIP Library... then select the file downloaded in the step above.

  • Rename ~/Documents/Arduino/libraries/denbit/src/default_config.h to config.h and edit its content to have the wifi access details and your denbit's name.

  • Mac users, if programming with a usb cable, install the driver from www.silabs.com (direct link).

Make it do something...

  • Connect the denbit to the usb port of the computer.
  • Select the Port the usb is connected to
  • On a Mac it will be /dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART
  • On Windows it will be COMM and a number so something like COMM4
  • Load the Blink "sketch"
  • File -> Examples -> Denbit -> Basics -> Blink
  • Compile (verify) the software: click the tick in the top left of the Arduino application...

  • wait while it compiles...

  • Upload the software: click the arrow in the top left of the Arduino application:

  • wait while it uploads...

  • The center light will be blue while it uploads.

  • When the Arduino window says "Done uploading" the green light will blink on & off
  • Change the Blink sketch so that delay(1000) is delay(500), then compile & upload again. The green LED will now blink twice as fast

Play with the Denbit Basic examples

Play with servos

Then use some sensors

Comments

No comments yet. Be the first to ask about this board.

Ask about this board

Sign in to BoardRepo

New here? Signing in creates your account; there is no separate sign-up.